Day 1 of the 100 day challenge

Ok, so Day 1 was relatively easy and painless. It’s a Friday. Friday 22 January 2016 to be exact. I never start anything new on a Friday but what the hell?!, ‘my way’ hasn’t ever really worked for me in the past so it’s time to change this up a little!

I woke up around 8am, allowing myself an hour to get ready for work as I usually do. That’s right, I leave for work at 9am most days! What can I say?

Squeezing the 5 minute journal in was really easy. I actually had lots of time spare and I wasn’t even rushing around. It’s like the hour had completely slowed down. Go figure.

I didn’t really journal about anything in particular. I basically just dumped all of those thoughts that were swirling through my mind before I even opened my eyes on to my notebook. I have to say, this felt really good. It’s as if I almost felt instantly lighter. I wasn’t carrying around my baggage for the day. I hadn’t solved any of these problems, but I didn’t need to  – it helped just getting them off my chest and making them my notebooks problem for now and not mine.

So off I went to work. I did the meditation on the tube. Granted, it’s not ideal but if it’s pretty relaxing drowning out all of the noise. On my way to the station, I was listening to this Youtube video of a guy explaining visualisation. It was the first video on the page. You can find it here .

This was helpful as I hadn’t really done any prep for my 100 day challenge. I literally decided what it was going to be at around 11pm the night before, after talking with my brother and sister.

The video got me to focus on visualisation techniques and how it all works. By the time I reached the station, the guided mediation had begun. That was the meditation part of the challenge ticked off nicely, thank you very much.

Now that I was fully relaxed, I spent 5 or so minutes visualising myself having kids and being in my house all decorated nicely, feeling calm and peaceful, enjoying my job and having a great income. I need to fine tune this vision but I think it’s a good start.

It’s very easy to complain about not having everything you want but what I find so difficult about ‘visualising’ is that I don’t really know what I want!!! That probably explains why I don’t have much! The difficulty is going to be to figure out exactly what I want, in detail! For example, if I want a new car I need to know what that car is!

I do want more because I feel unfulfilled, but most of the time I am too lazy to figure out what that ‘more’ is.

Lets see what the next 99 days hold.

One thing I do have to say though is that I felt a lot more calm, relaxed and ready for the day just implementing these 3 simple routines:

  • 5 minute journal
  • 10 minute meditation
  • 5 minute visualisation

I’m writing this blog to hold myself accountable. Something I never ever do.. which probably explains why I’m not very good at completing tasks!

So here goes…

Leave a Reply

