Day 5 of the 100 day challenge

51otHIHF8uL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Today’s 5 minutes journal was darker, a lot more depressing and angry to write but I’m glad I got those dark thoughts out of my head and into my notebook. I’m not feeling amazing, but at least I don’t have to carry the bulk of those dark thoughts around with me for the rest of the day.

I chose to do another meditation from  Shakti Gawain’s ‘Creative Visualization’ – specifically, the ‘Grounding yourself and running energy’ on page 87.

I read the meditation and then recorded myself reading it loud. So glad I did! It really helped get me in the zone… although I have to remember to read really really slowly next time and allow for very long pauses. My imagination needs time to do its thang!

This meditation gets you to imagine that there is a ‘grounding chord’ coming out of the base of your spine, going into the ground likes the roots of a tree. This allows you to pull energy from the earth and move it up through your body. This is mixed with energy from the ‘cosmos’ coming through the top of your head and down into the ground. (well, that’s my take on the whole thing anyway).

I like this. I like the idea of energy flowing through me, taking the good from the earth and sending it up through me into the universe and vice versa. I’ll be doing this more often for sure!

Now to the visualisation…

I had an interesting conversation with one of my brothers this evening. I asked him what he saw when he visualised his goals. He didn’t. WTF? A non-believer? He said he didn’t see the point of it!

After I removed the look of shock from my face, I told him excitedly about athletes and how the successful ones almost always say that they have imagined running a particular race a thousand times in their minds or they have mentally been through the course dozens of times. I told him that I honestly believe this works… but when I tell myself to visualise something, I go blank or my picture seems to fuzzy to actually see anything.

My brother, a film maker sees everything in clear pictures or moving images. He couldn’t understand how I couldn’t do this and I couldn’t understand how he could! I told him about my vision board and how, for example,  I ‘visualised’ being in Hawaii. I told him I was struggling with this because I have obviously never been to Hawaii, so how can I visualise it?

“But how does this relate to your 100 day challenge?” he asked. Say what?

“Well, I’m practising visualisation obviously! If I end up in Hawaii sometime in my life, I’ll know it worked!”, said I.

“Ermn, no. That’s not really a good experiment/challenge.  You can always twist your results to fit your way of thinking. Whatever you want, whatever you visualise, it has to happen in the 100 days of your challenge or it’s not a challenge

Mother trucker!

Ok, this guy has a point. This got me thinking and thinking hard. Admittedly, I’m not ready to go to Hawaii in the next 95 days so I don’t want to visualise this happening. But I would love to book my luxury trip to Hawaii before the challenge is over. What’s more, I would love to book it with the extra income £2k a month I want to visualise (rather than out of my current salary which would be a huge stretch).

Hmmn. You guys, I think I’m starting to get this!!!!!

I need my goals to be specific and measurable and that’s what I need to picture happening.  When I think of my goals/ desires in this way… I’m starting to actually see images in my mind. Moreover, I’m starting to feel excited when I sit down to think about them rather than thinking of them as a chore.

That kid (well, the 36 year old) is on to something!

Oh and my brother has also decided to visualise being a good Salsa dancer. He’s been to classes on and off for years but just doesn’t have the confidence to lead on the dance floor. He’s agreed to go through the moves in his mind daily, like a Salsa athlete…. so watch this space!

2 thoughts on “Day 5 of the 100 day challenge

  1. This reminded me that it might be a good idea to search up guided meditations online to help me visualise a good life. I mostly do my meditation in silence if possible but I do see the great help that a guided one can bring.

    And your brother might indeed be on to something… Got me thinking as well

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re doing really well if you can meditate in silence! I get too distracted so the guided meditations are the only way forward for me…for now. I hope to some day be at your stage!

    He can be right – very rarely! LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

