I am enough. Are you?

Yeah, we’ve all heard this a million times before, right?

It’s like that scene in Good Will Hunting when Robin Williams repeatedly keeps telling a young fresh faced Matt Damon that it’s not his fault and Matt’s all like “yeah, I know it’s not” but Robin keeps on at him. “It’s not your fault Will (Matt). It’s not your fault Will” and on and on until Matt starts swearing and then finally breaks down and starts crying. Poor Matt.

Now Robin wasn’t being mean. He just needed Matt to know and believe that it wasn’t his fault. Because dammit, it wasn’t Matt’s fault!!!! (and it never will be in my eyes). Robin had to say it to him over and over again until Matt was able to believe it.

Matt initially plays along “yeah Robin, I know it’s not my fault”. Then he resists “don’t fuck with me Robin” and finally he accepts “sob sob”. And that’s the moment right there, when his life starts to change!

**If you haven’t seen Good Will Hunting yet don’t judge it on my description of this scene! But where the hell have you been? Go see it!

goodwill-hunting

It’s the same thing with this principle. We all know we’re enough… right? I mean if you were to ask yourself right now if you were enough, your first and immediate response would more than likely be ‘yes’. But are you really? Then why aren’t you crying dammit?

The majority of us have an underlying hidden belief that in some way, shape or form we’re not enough. Sometimes it’s obvious where this belief comes from. Obvious to a Hypnotherapist at least. There will be there abusive parent, the Mother who left when you were young, the constant criticism from an overbearing father. These childhood events often lead to a feeling of not being enough, a feeling that stays with many of us throughout our lives holding us back from being all that we could be.

More often then not however, this belief is hidden somewhere so deep inside you that you absolutely no idea that you even think that you’re not enough. You’re just not one of those people, right? But your actions (or lack of), give you away…

 

They’re in that project you never complete.
That job you want but never apply for.
The pay rise you never ask for.
It’s when you accomplish all of your goals but never feel fulfilled or happy
The dance class you’ve always wanted to take but never do.
In never dreaming big because good things like that just don’t happen to you.

A good Hypnotherapist can help you figure out where this belief comes from and how to turn it around, usually in one or two sessions. But you don’t always necessarily need to know where the belief comes from. There’s a lot you can do to help yourself, starting right now.

So what’s the solution?

I’ve recently come across the work of Marisa Peer, who according to her website is the UK’s leading Therapist – so she must know her shit!

According to Marisa, the solution is a simple one. She tells her clients that three little words could change their lives. Yep, you’ve guessed it! These three little words are: I am enough.

Marisa suggests writing these words on your mirrors and on your phone and to basically surround yourself with them. So strong is Marisa’s belief in these words that she says when her clients have started saying them she has seen their lives transformed!

Whaaat??? Could it really be that easy? Marisa says ‘yes’!

That sounds like a challenge to me!

Now I have no idea if this works but it’s time to put these theories to the test and see if there really is some magic to be had in this easy to do self-help stuff that I always read about but never do! So, I’m adding these three little words to the remainder of my 100 day challenge.

My mirrors are already wearing my finest red lipstick and I’m rearing to go. Let’s give this a shot see where it takes us! I will of course report back with my findings so watch this space!

Iamenough2

Why not go grab yourself a red lipstick too and write ‘I am enough’ on every mirror in your house? Say it loud and say it proud whenever you see it. Say it to yourself repeatedly while you have a shower, when you do the washing up or just when you have some spare space in your head.

You never know what might just happen when you stop resisting and start believing… in you!

For daily motivation & inspiration, don’t forget to follow the Happy Soul Hub on Facebook and Twitter

8 thoughts on “I am enough. Are you?

  1. Sometimes even if we know the root cause of those beliefs, it becomes difficult to get rid of them. The key lies in continuing to overpower them with something, just as you suggested, until you succeed in throwing those beliefs out of our minds.
    Amazing post! I really enjoyed reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This statement was the proverbial nail on the head “Robin had to say it to him over and over again until Matt was able to believe it.” Believe being the key word! I also believe you don’t need to ‘know’ where it comes from even though I am trying to piece some of it together myself-I know I will never know the whole story. Fantastic post. Thank you.

    Like

  3. I’m learning that it’s all about belief… that seems be at the core of everything. If you don’t believe in yourself, that things will change, that you deserve more… no amount of positive thinking or wanting to change will make it happen!

    Btw – Hypnotherapy is a great way of helping you piece together some of the story. I’ve seen some amazing and unexpected results. Whatever method you choose, I wish you the very best with your journey.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on and read my post. I really appreciate it.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed reading your post on this powerful “affirmation”. Yes, I am enough. I am worthy. Imagine a group, a community speaking this daily affirmation into existence and then acting upon it?! Powerful is the spoken word.
    Wishing you peace and prosperity, always,
    ET

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

