Why minding your own business is good for your health

We’ve recently come across the work of author Byron Katie who shares this remarkably simple yet effective tool on how to be free of anxiety and tension. It’s so simple you’ll be wondering why you haven’t been doing it all this time!

 We’ll leave Katie (as everyone calls her) to explain it in her own words:

 “I can find only three kinds of business in the universe:

 1. Mine

2. Yours

3. Gods  (anything that’s out of my control, your control and everyone else’s control – that’s God’s business).

Much of our stress comes from mentally living out of our own business. When I think, “You need to get a job, I want you to be happy, you should be on time, you need to take better care of yourself” – I am in your business.

When I’m worried about earthquakes, floods, war, or when I will die – I am in God’s business.

 If I am mentally in your business or in God’s business, the effect is separation.

 If you are living your life and I am mentally living your life, who is here living mine? We’re both over there. Being mentally in your business keeps me from being present in my own. I am separate from myself,  wondering why my life doesn’t work.

To think that I know what’s best for anyone else is to be out of my business. Even in the name of love, it is pure arrogance, and the result is tension, anxiety and fear. Do I know what’s right for me? That is my only business. Let me work with that before I try to solve your problems for you.

If you understand the three kinds of business enough to stay in your own business, it could free your life in a way that you can’t even imagine.

 The next time you’re feeling stress or discomfort, ask yourself whose business you’re mentally in, and you may burst out laughing! The question can bring you back to yourself. And you may come to see that you’ve never really been present, that you’ve mentally been living in other people’s.

For more information about Byron Katie’s  visit  ‘the Work’ visit http://thework.com/en/do-work#jyn  

Leave a Reply

